Citizens Republic

“Nothing is so difficult as not deceiving oneself” Wittgenstein

Jagger rocks for Obama but not Cameron

Being an international rock icon is tricky work these days. What with world tours, interesting best selling biographies of fellow band members and the odd invite from political leaders. So have some sympathy for Mick Jagger.

Just a few weeks ago he was in Davos for the annual self described “World Economic Forum”. He had initially agreed to appear at a party hosted by British Prime Minister David Cameron. Jagger though had a much publicised last minute change of mind.

So no Rolling Stone and Jagger was reported as saying, “During my career I have always eschewed party politics and came to Davos as a guest, as I thought it would be stimulating.”

“I have always been interested in economics and world events. I now find myself being used as a political football and there has been a lot of comment about my political allegiances which are inaccurate. I think it’s best I decline the invitation to the key event and curtail my visit.”

So last week it another continent and another political party, except this one is with Obama in the White House. This time there was no cancellation and when asked was he nervous afterwards Jagger said, “I don’t want to sound blasé … but every gig is a gig, right?”

Jagger performed in a group with Jeff Beck, B.B. King and Buddy Guy. According to the Los Angeles Times Jagger “In an inspired move”, took the initiative and “passed the microphone to President Obama so that he could croon a few lines of “Sweet Home Chicago.”

The LA Times also reported that, “I’m very honored to have played the White House.” It seems that Downing Street and David Cameron will have to wait. Maybe Cameron should have invited Mick to play not to pose for photo opportunities!

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2012 by in music, politics.